Tithing

In the Old Testament it was the law in to give 10% of everything they earned and grew to the Church or Temple. That tithe was basically taxation for the needs of the priests, much like we are taught to do the same for ministers of today. However the New Testament states things very differently. Paul states that believers should set aside a portion of their income in order to support the Church it doesn’t say any certain amount. This is important to make note of, as some Churches point blank throw out the Old Testament as though it never existed. Their excuse for this is, Jesus came, washed away our sins, and the past is the past, we live and operate of the new convent of Christ.

Tithing to me means giving thanks and glory to God, and can also mean giving something of yourself, be it time or work to another. After all God does for me the least I can do is “pay it forward”, regardless of it being one of God laws in the Old or New Testament. I also feel if you are unable or unwilling to tithe your money, you can always tithe your time to charity or a person in need. Anything that is giving or doing a blessing to another is a form of tithing. If it’s hard to do at first, then it must be the right thing.

With that in mind, I personally don’t feel tithing HAS to go to the Church. There are loads of places and people you can donate to that often handle the money better than load of Churches. Harsh words for a Christian to speak, isn’t it? But think about it. The Red Cross for example, helps people all over, not just in one place. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying to NOT tithe to any church, I’m saying you really need to think and pray about tithing and see where God or whom or whatever you believe in guides you to tithe to. I have found lots of Churches have poor practice in how they handle their funds. I hate to judge what a person does with the money I give them, but I’d like to think it’s not paying for hotel rooms or internet access. If I provide someone with money, I didn’t provide them with money to party, but to pay bills and/or buy kids clothes. This is partly why I won’t provide certain family members with money when they come calling. I would rather buy clothes or things they need. Then, at least I know the money isn’t going to ordering pizzas and buying DVD’s. I know this isn’t a Christian way of thinking but I can’t help it. I’m VERY logical and I don’t see the sense in a person who has behaved like that with money all their life borrowing even more they blow. At what point does the borrowing stop? Never in that case.

I do think we should tithe one way or another, a poor person, a charity, Red Cross, Good Will. Something! The more we bless others the more we ourselves are blessed. It may take years to reap the rewards, but it will happen. I didn’t just roll over one night and get blessed over 10 times a day. No. I prayed, got right with God, asked for forgiveness and opened my eyes to the blessings around me. We reap what we sew, and for years I sewn a lot of sin and other stuff I don’t care to think about. It took years of planting good, to get good. Karma or whatever you wish to call it. It’s real even if you don’t believe in it.

Also something important to think about, if you are at a restaurant, and you are to tip the waiter or waitress… should you give them more than you give God? If your answer is no, but you still want to tip 10% then perhaps you should be “tipping” tithing God more. And that my dear is the parting words I will leave you with to think about.

Sections of the bible used for article. (Corinthians 16:1-2; Leviticus 27:30; Numbers 18:26; Deuteronomy 14:24; 2 Chronicles 31:5, 1).

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

