The Differences Between Praying and Wishing

Some would think that the difference between praying and wishing would be quite obvious, but apparently it’s not, as I once had a friend ask me if I still wish for things even though I pray. I admit from time to time I will slip to start to say “Boy I sure do wish” or “I wish I had”, but in my head and my heart I begin to pray to God asking about it, and having faith it will all work out. I don’t believe wishes come true as I’ve never been to Disney. I believe prayers are answered and wishes are dreams.

There is of course wishful thinking, which means if you wish hard and think hard enough about something, it may come true. I don’t know about you but I’ve never had that happen to me. As a youth I was all the time wishing for things for Christmas, Birthdays, Valentine’s Day, but I never once got it. I wish that was the case, but alas it’s not.

As an adult, I’ve learned that when I pray for something I often get it, and if I don’t get it, there is a really good reason why not. It may take some time though for me to see that reasoning. I guess we should take into consideration that a mind as an adult compared to a youth, asks for more responsible things. Some could say that very statement in an argument against the fact that prayers are answered and wishes are not. I could agree with this, except the facts speak for themselves. If wishing were more popular then praying, the common response to a person complaining they need or want something would be “wish for it” instead of “pray about it, or for it.” There would even be a following who are known as “Wishers” as apposed to “Prayer Warriors”.

Wishing goes along the lines of basic positive thinking; produces a positive outcome. If you think positive enough about something, sooner or later it’s going to come true. This could be attributed to simple will power, unless of course you are driven to get what you want. Getting the item, or doing whatever it is you may be wishing for, isn’t getting your wish anymore then it would be getting the prayer answered.

Prayer is when you communicate your wants and needs over to whatever deity you believe in. Many people believe prayer is a form of mental exercise, while others believe it’s some sort of requirement to get into heaven.

I personally believe my prayers are answered over wishes because I’m communicating directly with God. I understand if you don’t share my view I mean no offense if you believe something else.

**Previously published on the Yahoo! Network.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

