I have Sleep Apnea!

I stop breathing 78 times an hour! Sounds impossible huh? I thought so. When trying to sleep I’d hear birds tweeting, dogs barking, doors closing, the furnace coming on, cars passing, trucks thumping, the house creaking, and the minutes passing on my clock. I had no idea since a young child I suffered from sleep apnea. It took me going to my doctor asking for prescription sleeping pills in a fit of lack of sleep for months on end. My doctor ordered an at home sleep study. Then I was to go in for a study which probes would be placed upon my head, legs, and a mic at my mouth. All to record me sleeping to see what my CPAP machine was to be set at.

I was told my machine would need to be set at 5.0 to 14.0. This didn’t sound right to me at all. And I quickly discovered it wasn’t. Though I was provided with the Wisp mask which is what I liked during my test, I was not provided with a heated tube. Heating makes a huge difference! I had to pressure my doctor and Corner Stone Medical into adjusting my machine to auto.  Unfortunately they set it at a baseline of 5.0 which is IMPOSSIBLE for me to breathe at. And gave me a full days migraine! I had to call and fight for it to start at 7.5. I wanted 8.0 but I didn’t want to push my luck. Sure enough after 2 weeks of my CPAP machine being set on auto, my prescription was 8.5.

It was very hard to adjust to the machine, and believe me I didn’t think I ever would. I also didn’t think it was necessary. I was mistaken on both. I now love my machine and know the difference it makes. I don’t hear anything but my breathing and the machine. I can’t wait till the summer to see if my neighbors air unit bothers me as much as it use to.

I’m writing this to share with you, that if you have CPAP machine and don’t feel your pressure is correct, speak up! You will never adjust correctly if you aren’t given the right prescription. Cornerstone Medical can set your machine to auto with your doctor’s permission to discover what you really should be set at. Sleeping in your own bed makes a huge difference to the results of a proper reading. I know for a fact I didn’t sleep during my CPAP reading test because the air unit was so loud it was like a truck idling beside me.

I’ve personally invested in filters, a pillow mask, a snuggle hose cover, heated tubing, and created what I call a deflector array for my mask. I couldn’t put up with the air blowing out of the mask onto my bangs. So be prepared to put some of your own extra funds in your comfort as insurance may not cover these extras. In the coming weeks I’ll be sharing photos of these items, suggestions, tips, tricks and all and all general feedback.

Thanks for reading. Here’s to you getting a good nights sleep.

By the way, thought I’d share what Bing says about sleep apnea.

What is sleep apnea?

Sleep apnea is a serious sleep disorder that occurs when a person’s breathing is interrupted during sleep. People with untreated sleep apnea stop breathing repeatedly during their sleep, sometimes hundreds of times.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Food / Health, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

