Review: Green Chef Meals

I was blessed by Moms meet to review for free Green Chef Meals. I was excited as I’ve tried many types of food delivery. I was given two meals to cook and review as well as their general service.

Right off the bat I was confused. There wasn’t a sheet of everything included in the package like there is with other food deliveries. It would have been nice to have one checklist to confirm everything was packaged because even now after cooking everything I’m not 100% sure I got everything. I can’t imagine how others are feeling stepping into this out of the blue. I had to look over the cards like a check list.

img_2805img_2806

img_2809Lemon-Chive Salmon and Italian Meatballs & Orzo. I cooked the Salmon first. Before I cooked I read over the directions. Right away I knew this wasn’t going to be as easy as it should have been. I had to Google several things. I am not a chef, I do not have time to watch cooking shows and I didn’t expect to be so overwhelmed. But I was. “Microplane” really? I asked several of my friends if they knew what that was, NOPE and one is a GREAT cook! (heck even now my Microsoft office says microplane isn’t even a word OH and WordPress too!!) I’ve never de-stemed dill let alone seen fresh dill. I’ve never chopped chives so didn’t know how much of that I was to chop either. Half, all, whole? How much is too much? HELP!  I’ve never minced garlic nor know how to do it. And I don’t eat dark green salads. img_2810

I also would have found it useful to list beginner recipes up to advanced. I personally feel this ordeal made me feel like I was lacking the proper intelligence to cook for my family. The pictures were misleading. Step 2 said to “zest whole lemon.” (Whatever that is.) Then in step 6 shows the whole lemon. So is the whole lemon zested or not?! The salmon was good but not worth the trouble, my own recipe is better. I do however like that the cards had the list of items needed.

The Italian Meatballs and Orzo was up next. I didn’t use the kale as we don’t eat that. Nor did I use the onions as I don’t eat onions. I didn’t just ‘wipe’ the mushrooms as they were COVERED in dirt! I washed them and would recommend others do the same unless you enjoy organic dirt. There was no directions on the amount of water needed to boil the pasta. Which was completely WRONG seeing as they eventually wanted me to save some water I didn’t have because it boiled away!  And by the way, I don’t know what ‘al dente’ is.  Go ahead make fun of me, but if you are going to give cooking directions give them in a language the person knows. BEGINNER! Again, something I didn’t know, sear. I know Sears is a store! The Italian Meatballs and Orzo is nothing more than dressed up Hamburger Helper with loads more work and of course organic.

img_2808img_2807

This was interesting to take part in, but had I paid for it, I’d be asking for my money back. I realize they wanted a good review, and this is as honest as I can be. I have several friends and family who do Blue Apron which I’ve thought about myself and a few others I shall not name. I do hope the other companies are easier than Green Chef. I guess you need to be a chef to use Green Chef.img_2820

I do however think my aunt, mother and cousin would have had a blast doing this and sharing their tales. I was never taught to cook. I learned everything on my own as my mother died a month after I turned 18. Yes anyone can use the internet to look things up. I however took part in Green Chef to do something different, not do even more work. If you are looking for meal delivery that has everything laid out for you to cook in easy to understand directions with pictures, Green Chef is not for you.

About Green Chef • USDA-certified organic meal kit delivery service with pre-measured and largely prepped ingredients, including homemade sauces and marinades • Easy-to-master, chef-crafted recipes that use fresh, seasonal ingredients from carefully chosen suppliers are ready in just about 30 minutes • Family Plan: Wholesome family-style dinners that appeal to parents and kids alike • 2-Person Plan (3 dinners a week for 2 people) • Omnivore: Crave variety? This diverse, flexible menu has meat, seafood, and vegetarian dinners. • Carnivore: Meat and seafood lovers, dig in. Every dinner includes a land or sea protein plus veggies. • Gluten-Free: Always gluten-free and flavor-full, with meat, seafood, and vegetarian dinners. • Vegetarian: More than just salads, every dinner makes veggies the star in unique, delicious ways. • Paleo: Eat like an epicurean caveman. This paleo menu is rich in fresh produce and proteins. • Vegan: Plant-based just got better. An innovative menu with natural, specialty ingredients. • Family Plan (2 dinners a week for a family of 4) • Omnivore or Carnivore

Learn more online Connect with Green Chef online to see their latest products and special offers!

greenchef.com
facebook.com/GreenChefPage
twitter.com/GreenChef pinterest.com/green_chef
instagram.com/greenchef
blog.greenchef.com

As with all blog entries ALL of my disclaimers apply: I received this product for free from Moms Meet (momsmeet.com), May Media Group LLC, who received it directly from the manufacturer. As a Moms Meet blogger, I agree to use this product and post my honest opinion on my blog. The opinions posted are my own.

Green Chef will be tracking the use of each individual link and will award the top 3 bloggers with 2 free weeks of Green Chef (value up to $225).

Discount Offer: New customers get $50 off their first box.

bit.ly/2k5P0Cn

This entry was posted in Food / Health, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

