Can’t Access Non httpS Websites? Here’s The Fix

Have you noticed that you are getting errors when trying to reach websites that don’t have an S in the address bar making them a secure website?  This is a really annoying issue when some sites can’t update due to scripts they are using or whatnot.  There is a general real concern with webmasters that don’t have https in the address bar. I know this because several of my websites and clients can’t have this adapted as of yet.  So users who encounter this issue can’t even access those sites. I do have a genuine fix for this and it’s a lot easier than you may think.

The problem isn’t you, or anything you’ve done, it’s not even your internet router or ISP. It’s simply the fact that your computer did a sync with the time date sever.  I have found the time. nist. gov server to not be useful I’m using time.windows.com.  Every time my personal machine set the time to it I had to fix it. But I will admit the first time this happened, IE me being unable to reach websites that weren’t secure – I was in one hell of a panic mode! I couldn’t figure out what was going on. All I knew was my wifi wasn’t allowing me but if I connected through my Ethernet cable (which not everyone understands or uses) I was able to access everything perfectly fine. Also after updating the time on the computer, it wasn’t enough to fix the issue. A reboot was necessary and sometimes even that didn’t do the trick. Once I connected my Ethernet cable, I was able to surf perfectly fine after I fixed the time and I could then unplug it and the issue was fixed.

  1. Open Control Panel.
  2. Click on Clock, Language, and Region.
  3. Click on Date and Time.
  4. Click on the Internet Time tab.
  5. Click the Change settings button.
  6. Check that the Synchronize with an internet time server option is selected.
  7. Use the drop-down menu to select a different server. [If you want, I simply had no choice in the matter since the gov isn’t correct.]
  8. Click the Update now button to synchronize the time with the new server.
  9. Click OK.
  10. Click Apply.
  11. Click OK.

I’m not real sure why this has become an issue for so many. I noticed through my research that many tech sites and forums had this question/concern.

About Amy Lynn

Author and Actress Amy Lynn
This entry was posted in Amy Lynn's Voice Overs, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment